Skip Navigation LinksHome > Activities > Grants & Awards


Questions about the MCTM FAME Grant?

Contact:  Joann Barnett

Application & Guidelines


Each year at the annual meeting in December, several awards and recognitions are presented to MCTM members. The awards include:

Outstanding Mathematics Educator Award

Pre-Service                        Elementary                               Middle School                              
             High School                    Post-Secondary                          Math Coach/Coordinator

To be considered for a Missouri Outstanding Mathematics Educator Award the following materials must be attached to the cover sheet and mailed/emailed to the selection committee.

1. Background and Experience
(Organized in outline rather than narrative)
A. Education - Formal and Continuing (include institutions, data, major, degree(s)
B. Teaching Experience - list schools and teaching assignment
2. Professional Memberships, Activities, Accomplishments
A. Membership in Professional Organizations - include specifically length of membership in both MCTM and NCTM.
B. Participation in Professional Organizations - Offices, Committees
C. Professional Presentations and Publications
3. A response to the following question (One page maximum)

What is the greatest challenge you face as a teacher today, and how are you meeting this challenge?
Pre-Service Applicants:  What do see as the biggest challenge to you as a person new to the profession?  
4.  The nominating group or person will furnish no more than three letters of recommendation.
5.  Optional: Include any other information you would like the Awards Committee to know about you.
     Help us get to know you!

Deadline for postmark of application: November 1, 2018

 Extended Deadline if received electronically:  November 4, 2018


Contact: Nancy Bergfeld  at

Award Informational Packet

Leroy Sachs Award

Leroy Sachs.jpg
Leroy Sachs

This award was established in 1993 to recognize an individual who has given time, energy, and expertise to benefit the organization and to promote the improvement of mathematics education across the state of Missouri. It is named in honor of Leroy Sachs, a well-known St. Louis educator, who is recognized nationally for his excellence in teaching and support of teachers.  The nomination will be made by a MCTM Executive Board member to recognize outstanding contributions of leadership and service to MCTM.  This is the highest honor that the Missouri Council of Teachers of Mathematics offers to those who have given so much of themselves to Missouri mathematics.

Previous recipients have been:
1993 Faye Sharp
1994 John Swartz
1995 Robert Buss
1996 Mary Beth Swartz
1997 Harry Oldweiler
1998 Reta Smith
1999 Wendell Wyatt
2000 Linda Coutts
2001 Larry Campbell
2002 None Given
2003 Mary Ann White
2004 Bob Carman
2005 Rita Barger
2006 Cindy Bryant
2007 Tammy Randolph
2008 David Ashley
2009 Chip Sharp
2010 Chip Day
2011 Robert Rowe
2012 Ann McCoy
2013 Sonya Land
2014 Nancy Bergfeld
2015 Cathy Battles
2016 Terry Goodman
2017 Nancy English


Retired/Retiring Teachers

MCTM would like to recognize all Missouri mathematics teachers who are retiring.

The recognition should be:
  • Within one year of retirement
  • At least 10 years teaching and/or supervision experience in the field of mathematics in the state of Missouri or in a region served by MCTM

If you are retiring or know a colleague who will be retiring this year contact us with the following information about the retiring teacher:

  • Retiree's name
  • Address
  • Where they are retiring from
  • How long they have taught (total)
  • A short paragraph about their plans or an interesting story from their past


Contact Nancy Bergfeld

Design downloaded from free website templates.